Discover Peru
Español Français

San Martín

Related pages:

Moyobamba, the department capital of San Martin, was the first town in Peru to be founded in the low virgin forest, just after the conquest.

It was the siege of the first religious orders that were established in the region which made Moyobamba and its surrounding areas the center of their catechism work; it served also as the base for the later colonization and development of this rich region.

The San Martín department was created on September 14th, 1906. It best ally for development is the Marginal road, before it was the Huallaga river; this river forms, with its main tributaries (the Mayo, the Huallabamba, the Saposoa, the Chazutayacu, the Yuracyacu, the Biavo and the Ponaza) the most important hydrographic system of the region.